Summer 2011

I know I haven’t posted much this summer, and it’s certainly not for lack of content. On the contrary, I’m following so many art & design blogs and have my hands in so many projects that I find it difficult to sit down and right about just one! In an effort to up my post count, I’m going to start writing posts ahead of time so that when I haven’t posted in awhile, I can simply dig through drafts and post something from the reserve.

I’ve continued working on still lives throughout the summer to bolster my portfolio, though I went through a period where I was tired of them. Fortunately, a few of my family members had birthdays so I was motivated to work on some original art for them.

For my father (father’s day was in June) I produced a drawing of a dragon completely in COPICs, since he’d commented on some of the other COPIC art I have in my apartment. He seemed very please with it.

My younger brother’s birthday piece, though, kind of took on a mind of it’s own. I knew that he was interested in watches and their mechanics so I started my research there. Initially, I was going to design a tattoo for him around cogs and gears but this somehow morphed into doing a full painting for him of a custom-designed pocket watch. It was an ambitious project since mechanics are something I’ve not really attempted before. After something like 15 hours spanning over two weeks, here’s the finished product.

I am extremely happy with the way it turned out, and his reaction was better than I could’ve expected (normally he’s pretty complacent, but he flipped out when he saw this). I had doubted whether or not I wanted to give him the original, but after thinking about it and seeing how much he loved it, I figured that if it weren’t for him I wouldn’t have attempted such a piece. It belongs to him and I’m happy for it.

Right now I’m in the middle of an abstract self-portrait, an ambitious still life of objects from Greece (the husband’s idea!) and a set of matching designs for a few end tables I ambitiously agreed to paint for my bro in law (the same one I painted the goalie mask for). Hopefully I won’t take a zillion years to finish this project for him.

Leave a Reply

