Chill in the Air

Fall is coming! I’ve grown to love autumn over the years. Usually by the end of summer, I’ve had enough of the heat and am ready to put away the open toed shoes and start layering up . This summer hasn’t really been that warm, but I’m looking forward to the beautiful colors and cool breezes of fall anyway. I’m especially looking forward to pumpkin lattes and new boots.

I’ve got a handful of projects on the go and have been working a little every night to keep them going:
– Map Illustration: this is still in the research phase but I’ve got a good idea of where I want to go with it. Now it’s just a matter of doing a few drafts.
– End Tables: this is still in the research phase as well and will take more time. I’m not overly familiar with chinese lions so I will have to continue looking into it and continue practising how to draw them. I have a pretty good idea of what I want to draw on each table and now I have all the supplies I’ll need to prepare and paint them (sand paper, gesso, varnish, etc).
– Still Life of Greek Memorabilia: About halfway done this painting. I need to finish it before tomorrow because I’m going to have to move the objects in question.

So why would I need to move these objects? They’re currently set up in my art space, AKA the dining room, or the corner of the living room. I will soon be moving out of this space to our 2nd bedroom! Tim has graciously agreed to move his music equipment out since he doesn’t need the space any more and I will have my very own studio, complete with window and closing door (to keep those loveable but troubles cats of mine out)! I am so looking forward to having my own room where I can shut the door and turn off the world outside. I’ll try and follow up with some photos next week.

Have a great weekend everyone, and if you’re in the Maritimes (or in the path of hurricane Irene), stay safe and be reasonable (IE no rioting in Sobey’s).

Leave a Reply

