Movin’ on up!

Over most of the day Sunday I moved into my new “studio” AKA the second bedroom in our apartment. I haven’t got it totally set up the way I want it, but I expect that to take a few months anyway. It’s so nice having a window right next to me with beautiful natural light pouring in, and a heater in the winter when I get chilly (which is all the time)!

Studio I

Studio I

Studio II

Studio II

Studio III

Studio III

Studio IV

Studio IV

Studio V

Studio V

I also finished off a still life that I spent most of last week’s free time on. Overall I’m satisfied with it and pleased at the amount of detail I was able to get with acrylics. Normally I’d use oils on a piece like this.

Greek Memorabilia

Greek Memorabilia

I’ve been slowly but surely getting used to spending longer amounts of time working on art. After going to my abstract art class earlier this month and painting (usually several pieces) every day, I want to keep up that momentum to finish as many pieces as possible over the next year. The more I paint, or draw, or do anything artistic, the better I’ll get.

My next project is designing and painting two end tables for my brother in law. He has an interest in fu dogs, more specifically mentioned designing a tattoo for him awhile back with them. After looking into what they are a bit more, I found that they’re more suitable for end tables to decorate the front of his apartment, and since he’s given me tables to paint, it just fits better. I’m still getting comfortable drawing them. Animals have never been my strong suit, but I was able to draw a dragon for Dad earlier this summer so there’s no reason I can’t do this as well. I’ll just need to practice, practice, practice. Teaser:

Shi Shi Lion Design

Shi Shi Lion Design

Leave a Reply

