More Watercolor Inspiration

I’ve signed up for yet another course starting at the end of September: watercolors for beginners! Over the summer I’ve spotted quite a few artists using watercolor in different ways; soft, dreamy wisps of color going all the way to the other extreme with booming vivid blocks of color. Since I am all about trying new things with art, I can’t wait to start! Here are some examples of what can be done with this media.

Helena Nelson’s paintings take you to another fantastical world. Her colors remind me a bit of stained glass. She leaves no detail unpainted. Her water-colors are extremely precise yet still flowing and organic. I would consider this concept art.

Helena Nelson

Helena Nelson

Inslee has a lovely fast and loose style with her water-colors. Outlines are used to tie it all in, making her art is a bit more illustration-based. Tiny details aren’t as prevalent, but patterns and colors are definitely embraced.

Inslee's Work

Inslee's Work

Kim-Anh uses inks to create beautiful old-school style tattoo art. I absolutely love the lines and blending style of this kind of art and mean to look more into it. I suppose this isn’t technically water-color, but I’m sure the techniques of that media could be applied to ink as well.

by Kim-Ahn

by Kim-Ahn

I believe Tim Shumate (aka Telegrafixs) uses a blend of water-colors and colored pencils but he is not specific in his description of this work. I am a huge fan of bright bold colors, so this immediately stood out for me. I’ve been warming up to the idea of mixing media and have already done so quite a bit with acrylics and oils. It seems natural to continue on with colored pencils as well.

"The Call is Coming from..." by Telegrafixs

"The Call is Coming from..." by Telegrafixs

One response to “More Watercolor Inspiration

Leave a Reply

