Inspiration Post 21-09-11

I don’t have much to report in terms of updates on my own projects as I was out of town for the weekend, but I did spot a painting while in Halifax at Garrison Brewing that I really liked. I didn’t take a photo but managed to find a small pic online:

garrisonBrewing

garrisonBrewing

It’s a pop-art beer painting. Up close it looks a lot nicer! I’d like to do something like that to post beside our bar at home… maybe with some cocktail classes instead of beer bottles? I’m going to add it to my always-growing project list.

I’m always checking my news feeds for awesome art and design and found a few artists this week that made me do a double-take. This painting, “Lost” by Andrew Young, for example. The combination of the two expressions made me scroll back to this to give it a second look. Not sure what he’s using for mediums but if I had to hazard a guess, I’d say oils. Oils tend to look a bit more rich and organic than acrylics IMHO. I like how her face is in more detail than the rest of the painting; her arms and hair blend more into the background (some pieces of the background even appear to blend into her skin at points). It really draws your eyes to the center of the painting. His other work is definitely worth checking out!

Lost by Andrew Young

Lost by Andrew Young

Paintings and graphics by themselves aren’t the only things that inspire me. Being the crow that I am, sparkly things are always pulling me away from whatever I’m trying to do (sad but true, ask my husband). Joji Kojima‘s “Aggressive Glam” collection has my full attention. His jewellery is exquisitely violent, diamond teeth and gemmed masks with chained up eyes. It’s absolutely stunning to look at which is no doubt why Lady Gaga loves it so much.

Agressive Glam

Agressive Glam

Konstantin Shalev’s intense graphics remind me of what it was like to doodle on the sidelines of my notes in school. For me, drawings with that much detail are so daunting to get started on, but once you’ve got enough to build on it’s so much fun! Full vibrant candy colors draw me into all the nooks and crannies of this work. Video games, tattoos, graffiti, cartoons… it’s all here!

Space Crime by Konstantin Shalev

Space Crime by Konstantin Shalev

My goals for this week are to get a few more good solid hours down on the plant oil painting and to finish off the female Shi Shi Lion illustration (about 75% there now). Pics will certainly follow!

Leave a Reply

