Inspiration 09-12-11

I’m in a bit of a food coma but will attempt to make a coherent post to end the week on. What’s one of the best things to do when you’re feeling spaced out and sleepy? Look at pretty things!

“Joe Blow” by Serge Gay Jr

“Joe Blow” by Serge Gay Jr (via Pinterest)

There’s a lot going on in this piece, lots for my eyes to take in and there’s a narrative going on but I haven’t quite figured it out yet. The palette is very dingy and dark giving a creepy drugged-out effect. Details shine in this piece, like the tattoos, the gun and the bottle of Jack. (For the record, painting or drawing tattoos on a subject in a work is much more difficult than it looks, getting them to follow the curves of skin, etc.) Why is the piece split in two? What’s wrong with the man on the floor? What are the ghosts/spirits doing?

by James Payne

by James Payne (via Beautiful Decay)

A colorful collage of politically-driven symbolism. Prints and collages are great because they can combine so many different styles to one piece. I find myself wondering about the placement of images in the rainbow and the orientation: some of them are upside down. Is there a reason that some images fall under specific colors? I believe there’s a bigger message with this piece but don’t want to grasp at straws.

James Bond Girls prints by Michael Gillette

James Bond Girls prints by Michael Gillette

I saw these and immediately loved them! The style is very art deco and reminds me a bit of Mucha’s work, but at the same time it borrows from pop art with the bright and vivid color palette. I love the way the text is layered over the girls like 70s rock posters, slightly different fonts for each one. These are full of class and absolutely gorgeous. I’d hang these in a second. So inspiring! The combination of colors, font and siloutettes makes me want to do something like this of my own.

A certain taste of life by Linnea Strid

A certain taste of life by Linnea Strid

Expertly done lips and teeth. There’s a really fine line with teeth; you want to define them so that it’s obvious what they are, but make the space between them just a hair too thick and the subject will look buck-toothed. Needless to say the water effects here are spectacular as well. I don’t know if it’s light reflecting off the oils or if she meant for the specs to be there, but it totally works, either way. The artist created a lot of depth with the colors in the face and the lips really pop.

This weekend I’m going to finally put up the xmas tree and continue working on cards: 6 down, at least 6 to go! I’ve got so much on the go that I’m running out of space in my studio. I also need to finish the textbook painting I’m working on. I think it will be the last still life I do for awhile. I can only work on it in the evening because of the way it’s lit, making it pretty restricting.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

3 responses to “Inspiration 09-12-11

Leave a Reply

