Holiday Harvest at UNB Art Centre

As the holidays draw closer, my brain prepares for winter hibernation. It’s getting harder to buckle down and get work done (re: writing this blog!) but on the plus side I’ve been doing a lot of baking! Over the past few weeks I’ve made gingerbread ninjas, chocolate-covered pretzels and sugar cookies (thought the latter didn’t turn out so well) and last night Tim & I made peanut brittle. In previous years I’ve felt very unprepared for the holidays but this year I’m totally ready: shopping done, decorating done and baking pretty much done as well. Bring on the good eats, movies and lazy days!

I had a chance to check out the Holiday Harvest exhibit at the UNB Art Centre this week. There are so many beautiful paintings for sale there, all prices and sizes! Here are a few of my favorites:

"Deep" by Lise Dumas Richard

"Deep" by Lise Dumas Richard

I did my abstract art class with Lise earlier in the summer. Her work is beautiful and she was great company! “Deep” is vibrant and mesmerizing and caught my eye almost as soon as I walked in the door. Love the transitions from the gold and green to the blues and purples… deep indeed! The colors drew me in for a closer look which revealed small intricate swirls to lead my eye throughout the work.

"Red" by Estelle Nadeau

"Red" by Estelle Nadeau

Bold bright colors always catch my eye so this piece was a no-brainer for me. I love the blend of abstract and reality, how the background slowly begins to blend into the flowers in the middle. It’s hard to see in this photograph but the piece has a lot of texture as well that helps distinguish the flowers from the background.

"Mother Goose" by Lynn Billings

"Mother Goose" by Lynn Billings

I feel like I could run my fingers through the water in “Mother Goose”. The blues and purples in the water allow the mother and her chicks to really pop. The detail in these birds is incredible as well; the feathers look so soft.

"Around the Bend" - Don Gould

"Around the Bend" - Don Gould

Pieces like this are great because they are almost two completely different works, depending on how you look at it. Up close you get a more abstract piece, bright splotches of color next to each other. From further away these colors blend together to create a beautiful fall scene. For a landscape such as this, I think the pointillism style used here is one of the best ways to represent all the colors that make up this beautiful autumn forest. The thick paint and texture give the illusion of crumpled leaves.

"McCallum Lake" - Joanne Violette

"McCallum Lake" - Joanne Violette

Normally landscapes and wildlife aren’t my thing, but this painting stopped me in my tracks. Again, this photo really doesn’t do the color palette justice. There is a lot going on color-wise and it requires a few minutes to take it all in. Not a single detail is left unpainted here from the reeds of grass to the shafts of light from the sun to the moose’s reflection in the lake. This piece radiates serenity, warmth and beauty. As I studied it more it became obvious how many hours it must’ve taken to paint each portion of this scene.

There is so much more to see in this gallery: oils, acrylics, wax and more. I love going to exhibits of local talent; it really makes me appreciate the art scene in Fredericton that seems to be very underground and quiet most of the time. If you can, go check out the exhibit at the UNB Art Centre (admission is free!) before it ends this Sunday the 18th.

One response to “Holiday Harvest at UNB Art Centre

Leave a Reply

