For My Home 20/01/12

Happy Friday everyone! Lately I’ve been seeing lots of great spaces using wallpaper. It seemed to be more popular in the late 80’s to early 90’s but then it became really tacky. These days though, people are doing a lot of creative things with it!

from “Elle Interior”

from “Elle Interior” (via 79ideas.org)

For starters, the patterns are more modern and very beautiful, an art in and of themselves.

Summer Totem in Emerald

Summer Totem in Emerald

This floral pattern is beautiful and more like an illustration than a wallpaper. I’ll admit that it might be a challenge to design a room with this kind of wallpaper but if I was careful with colors, it could be stunning. I’d use calmer, more neutral tones for the furniture and tables.

Graham and Brown

Graham and Brown, via Apartment Therapy

Skulls and gothic-style items are slowly creeping into interior decor. I’m a big fan of this trend! I think with the wallpaper above, though, I’d have it over a smaller wall rather than a huge wall in a living room or bedroom. I think it’d look good in a foyer or corner, accented by other goth-themed items like candles or some vintage jewelry. Since it’s neutral and dark there are a lot of options in terms of furniture or shelving that would look good against it. Neutrals or bright colors are options here!

Revamped Dressers

Revamped Dressers (via Apartment Therapy)

I’ve mentioned before that I love the idea of taking old furniture and decorating or painting it, something I was introduced to through my brother-in-law (whom I painted a goalie helmet and two end tables for). For those that may not be so artistically-inclined, using patterned-wallpaper is a great way to dress up an old boring dresser! Unfortunately I can’t find the tutorial for this particular dresser but I don’t think it’d be that difficult to do. Simply remove the drawers, take off the handles, cut & glue the wallpaper down and put it back together after it’s dried. You could do something similar to what’s been done to this suitcase, which does have a tutorial.

Mod Podge Fabric Covered Suitcase DIY

Mod Podge Fabric Covered Suitcase DIY (via Sarah Hearts)

Not looking so tacky now, eh?

2 responses to “For My Home 20/01/12

  1. You couldn’t be more right. Wallpaper is making a comeback. Now there are so many different selections from textures to patterns, to colors and sheens. There is someting for everyone.

  2. Pingback: Rooms in Blue | .:soulexposed:.

Leave a Reply

