For My Home 25-01-12

Sometimes when I see something I want for my home, it’s not the object itself that attracts me, but they way it’s presented in a space.

Pink Paper Lamps (via Design Sponge)

Pink Paper Lamps (via Design Sponge)

These paper lanterns, for instance. The color palette here is lovely; bright pink with shades of cream and brown to calm it down. I’ve always loved the look of paper lanterns and think they can avoid being tacky if placed properly. The only space I’d be able to get away with having them in, in my home, would be my studio. In this case, I’d likely want to try and paint them and customize them with my illustrations.

Backless Chair, Fur Throws (via Haute Design)

Backless Chair, Fur Throws (via Haute Design)

The chair in this photo immediately caught my eye. I’m sure there’s a name for it but since I’m unaware, I’ll refer to it as the “backless chair” (classy, eh?). I’m always looking for a place to drop my purse when I get in the door and a chair like this would be perfect for that, as well as sitting down to unlace my boots instead of leaning over and getting a horrible head rush… but I digress. The chair itself is quite simple and is easy to make work with any space by use of pillows and throws. Maybe it’s my love of fantasy coming through (Game of Thrones in particular) but I love those fur throws as well. Of course, it wouldn’t have to be real, I’m perfectly happy with synthetic! I just love wrapping up in something when reading, lounging on the couch or browsing the web and fur is super comfy and stylish, especially in this richly colored space.

Betty Boop Glasses (via Tim Lingley)

Betty Boop Glasses (via Tim Lingley)

This one’s a bit of a cheat since I actually have these! Tim was looking for something to photograph for his 365 project last night and dug out my glasses. After fussing over them last fall in front of my MIL she kindly put them in my stocking for xmas. ❤ I love love love them! From the little I understand about art/design terms, I'd call them Kitsch. The vintage cartoon style with carefully chosen colors caught my eye as soon as I'd entered the store and I knew I had to have them. To be honest, I don't quite have a home for them yet; they're sitting on the bookshelf in my studio at the moment, but I'd like to have a shelf that suits them better.

Espresso Field Guide (via Design You Trust)

Espresso Field Guide (via Design You Trust)

A must-have print for espresso lovers. I recently obtained a new espresso machine to help fuel my creativity and now I’m excited to make all kinds of different espresso drinks. This is on the wall beside my machine. I’ve been meaning to make a coffee-related artwork of my own so this will do until I make my way down the list to this project. Even for those who don’t have anything fancy for espresso, it makes a nice addition to just about any kitchen or coffee-corner.

Leave a Reply

