Owls Everywhere

A lot got accomplished over the weekend; I hashed out two more rough sketches, completed pencils for one piece and got ~75% of its inks down! It feels so good to pencil and ink again. There’s a sense of satisfaction that comes after I finish inking a piece. When I first started experimenting with markers, it was a long time before I even felt comfortable coloring originals (I would scan or photocopy them and color that instead).

Tim was gone for the weekend so I was able to crank up the music and get stuff done. Even the kitties were getting a bit lonesome by the end of it.

Mocha on my lap, helping me draw.

Mocha on my lap, helping me draw.

Java perched on top of my chair, supervising.

Java perched on top of my chair, supervising.

When I was doing research for this project I found that owls were referenced in a lot of different lore concerning both life and death. Because of this, I decided to do a series of three drawings to explore the different takes on owls so I could include everything I’d found. In order, my drawings represent life, guidance and death. I’ve snuck in more references to mythology than I can name and it’s been lots of fun! Here’s what I’ve got so far.

Redraw & Inks for Life Owl

Redraw & Inks for Life Owl

Guidance Owl Sketch

Guidance Owl Sketch

Death Owl Sketch

Death Owl Sketch

As I get further into each piece I’ve been starting to think about what kinds of colors I’m going to use. I’m looking at really bright colors for “life” and subdued darker colors for “death”, but I’m not sure how to tackle the “guidance” one.

Alongside this project I’m going to try and continue working on the Chuck Close self-portrait study. It stares at me every time I sit down and I won’t be satisfied until it’s done.

Can’t wait to bust out my new copics!

2 responses to “Owls Everywhere

  1. Pingback: Zoe Pawlak | .:soulexposed:.

Leave a Reply

