Brightly Colored Illustrations

With spring blooming and bringing in some warmer temperatures, I find myself gravitating towards art that use brilliant colors. Getting an introduction to color theory back when I took that intro to acrylics course has helped me understand why colors appear bright or glowing. This totally changed the way I looked at things and gave me a lot to think about while coloring and painting. There is so much more to lighting and shading than white and black.

unfinished piece by Viktoria Gavrilenko

unfinished piece by Viktoria Gavrilenko

The flowers in this illustration scream spring! Going from the top of the drawing to the bottom, the flowers start out very impressionistic and gradually gain more detail. The skin and dress are light and airy which brings the butterfly nicely into focus. Unfortunately, according to this artist’s deviantart site, she says she won’t be finishing this piece, but I feel like it’s a strong enough piece to stand on its own. I just wish I knew why this girl was so sad…

Magical Girl by Kim eunhye

Magical Girl by Kim eunhye

My recent manga-craze has led me to look through tons of anime/manga artists for more inspiration. Because of shows and comics that appeal to a younger audience (pokemon, yugioh and the like), a more simplistic cell-shaded art style has become very popular. It’s sad, because it’s not the kind of style that made me love anime and I feel like people get the wrong idea about the genre since this stuff is so popular. The drawing above is more what I gravitate towards: frills and flowing fabrics, beautiful fantastical dress, the backgrounds with gradients and patterns and exquisitely detailed accessories, like the sceptre! Rather than simple cell-shading, this piece uses interesting colors for shadows that give the whole image a surreal-floating kind of vibe.

Las Teclas Negras by herringbones

Las Teclas Negras by herringbones

The warm versus cool color palette drew me into this illustration and at first I almost didn’t notice the text in the corners. There’s a lot going on, but somehow it all flows together through a story I don’t fully understand quite yet. I really love the style of bubbles and water, things I’ve always struggled with. The line-work in this piece is very nice as well, helping to bring things to the foreground and push others back, organizing the image.

by Sinad Jaruartjanapat

by Sinad Jaruartjanapat

The more colors the better, right? By having a rainbow-colored palette it’s easy to overwhelm the viewer with too many colors, but having a neutral background here gives the eye somewhere to rest. Without that space the colors in her fins may not look as bright. Again I’m lost in the details, from the tips of the trident to the flourish of this mermaid’s tail. Her colorful armor is reminiscent of a butterflies’s wings. One day I hope to be able to design characters with this much impact and draw as flowingly as this.

Leave a Reply

