Traditional Art Supply Wish List

For the past few weeks I’ve been very careful with my money so that I’ll have some cash to spend during our upcoming roadtrip. I’ve heard good things about the art stores in New York, and have been making a wish list in my mind of things I’d like to get my hands on. With any luck I’ll even be able to try out a few things. Ever since the Naoko Takeuchi post, I’ve been itching to do some awesome manga-inspired works with some cool traditional media, like brushes, pens, airbrushes, toner, etc. Here are some of the things on my latest wish list:

Neo Sable Watercolor Paint Brush (good precision watercolor brushes)

Niji Waterbrush (a brush that holds water instead of ink)

COPIC airbrush system (allows for smooth color over a large area)

DELETER screentones (used to shade manga pages, can also be used for patterns and backgrounds)

DELETER paper (paper for markers and inks)

Canson drawing paper (more paper for markers and inks, used by Naoko Takeuchi)

Poster color

Colored inks

I figure since I haven’t done any courses yet this year, it’d be nice to try something new. Thanks to youtube, I can search for tutorials on anything I’m not sure how to use!

This video shows an illustration done using a french french curve and lightbox, colored with a combination of inks, watercolors and an airbrush. I really admire the way the background was detailed here and the method of coloring the girl’s shirt; it looks like the entire shape of the shirt was first dampened with water, and then the red sort of “bleeds” into the shape once applied in the middle. Really cool.

Below, we see Francis Vallejo inking a piece three different ways: with a nib, a brush, and a combination of the two with grey washes. The tool chosen to ink with will make a huge impact on the final drawing.

Working with manga screentone is painstaking and could be done much quicker digitally, but there’s something about cutting and pasting and doing things by hand that makes it a much more personal experience, for me. Here’s an example of how you’d use screentone to shade an image (this one’s a bit long, roughly 10 minutes). More example’s of his screen-toned art can be found here.

2 responses to “Traditional Art Supply Wish List

Leave a Reply

