Must-Sees at the MoMA

Our upcoming roadtrip is taking us through NYC, meaning I will get a chance to see the Museum of Modern Art! I wasn’t sure what they had on display, so I visited their website and discovered that, thanks to Google’s art project “Artworks”, most of the work is available to view online! I plan to go to MoMA with somewhat of a battle plan, since we only really have one full day there and we’ll want to explore other areas of the city. Here are some of the paintings I want to get a closer look at: the links at the top take you to the high resolution versions at Google Art Project, and clicking the images will take you to Wikipedia for more information (or Google Art Project if there was no wiki entry).

The Starry Night by Van Gogh

The Starry Night by Van Gogh

The Starry Night by Van Gogh

The Birth of Venus by Botticelli Sandro Botticelli

The Birth of Venus (Botticelli)

The Birth of Venus (Botticelli)

Ophelia by Sir John Everett Millais

John Everett Millais - Ophelia

John Everett Millais - Ophelia

Charing Cross Bridge by Claude Monet

Charing Cross Bridge, Monet

Charing Cross Bridge, Monet

Marie-Antoinette With The Rose by Louise Elisabeth Vigée-Lebrun

Marie-Antoinette With The Rose by Louise Elisabeth Vigée-Lebrun

Marie-Antoinette With The Rose by Louise Elisabeth Vigée-Lebrun

The Two Crowns by Sir Frank Dicksee

The Two Crowns by Sir Frank Dicksee

The Two Crowns by Sir Frank Dicksee

The Lady of Shalott by John William Waterhouse

The Lady of Shalott by Lord Alfred Tennyson

The Lady of Shalott by Lord Alfred Tennyson

I’m hoping that seeing these pieces in person will help give me a better understanding on how they were composed, maybe some hints on technique. Starry Night has been a favorite of mine for awhile (this may or may not have been influenced by his recent appearance in Doctor Who) and so has Ophelia. I remember being struck by Ophelia for the first time while sitting in English class in middle school. I believe the Lady of Shalott was there as well. I applaud the teachers the show art in their classrooms! It’s a great way to get conversations going and you never know who you might inspire!

Seeing how the masters rendered both nature and fabrics in stunning detail has always fascinated me. I’m also excited to see some more abstract works, especially since my abstract course last summer. I have such a better appreciation for the likes of Monet and Gogh, and am itching to see their works close up.

Looking over the museum maps, it looks like I’ll be starting on the top floor and heading downwards. With any luck I’ll be able to see all of these paintings and not feel too overwhelmed. I’m also told that the MoMa has an excellent cafe with delicious mochaccinos, so I know where to go to fuel up! I’d like to get a look at some of the current exhibitions at well, but we’ll see how I feel after the fifth floor…

…any pieces you guys would recommend visiting?

2 responses to “Must-Sees at the MoMA

  1. Go see Picasso’s “les demoiselles d’avignon” He based it on prostitutes he saw on the avenue d’avignon in Barcelona. Their faces are painted like African masks, which was dominating modern art in Paris.

Leave a Reply

