Fashion Goodies

Okay, so this post isn’t strictly art-related and may be a bit of a stretch. I’ve been running around trying to get things in order all week and sadly, I haven’t had a lot of time to dedicate to drawing or painting. I have made some progress on the last owl and will try to get an image of that up next week. Also, decided against stock-piling entries to post while I’m away; I didn’t want to feel forced to write and end up with sub-par content, so my blog will be on vacation with me. 🙂

In addition to the art supply shopping and many other activities we’ll be doing on the road for the next two weeks, I’m going to be keeping an eye out for some updates to my wardrobe. Rather than hitting the malls I’d like to explore local shops and markets for handmade goods.

I’ve collected a lot of necklaces and bracelets recently, so I’d like to try and beef up my ring collection. Large teal and blue stones have been popular lately and would work with a lot of different outfits. Most of the rings I have now are sparkly, so getting a larger stone with a pattern or cat’s eye in it would be a nice change. My hands are quite small but I’m a fan of big chunky jewelry:

Amulet Stone Ring via Channing Allard

Amulet Stone Ring via Channing Allard

turquoise stone stretch ring via jane norman

turquoise stone stretch ring via jane norman

I’ve noticed the trend of slouchy-type hats in the colder seasons and would love to add one to my wardrobe as well for those days that my hair doesn’t cooperate. If I stuck with a neutral color I could wear it with just about anything. As for warmer climates, ever since Greece, I’ve been on the search for the perfect sun hat. Because I’m prone to headaches, migraines and wear contact lenses, the bright sun tends to make my eyes hurt. Of course I love the sun, so I need to find a way to enjoy it comfortably. I already have a great pair of over-sized sunglasses but would like a nice hat to switch them up with every once in awhile. There are so many different kinds that I can’t really decide which I want more. I’m leaning towards a Fedora or Cowboy-type hat, something with a shorter rim as opposed to a wide-brimmed hat which looks ridiculous on my small head.

ASOS Boyfriend Knit Beanie via ASOS

ASOS Boyfriend Knit Beanie via ASOS

Alpaca Hand Knit Hat - Ash Brown, via Etsy

Alpaca Hand Knit Hat - Ash Brown, via Etsy

Marschel, via Aldo

Marschel, via Aldo

via Bootbarn

via Bootbarn

My over-sized scarf has been acting as a wrap when I get chilly. It’s a beautiful scarf, but it’d be nice to have something with sleeves so I don’t have to untangle myself from the scarf all the time. I love the sweater wraps below, either with the tassled ends or the frayed ones. Something with a bold geometrical pattern would refresh my wardrobe  a bit. Having a new light jacket would be nice as well seeing as the thin canvas jacket I currently have is getting a bit ratty and has almost lost it’s buttons. As a bonus, it would be good to have a good neutral jacket to layer over my summer dress.

Mikayla Tribal Sweater via tobi

Mikayla Tribal Sweater via tobi

via Kat Von D

via Kat Von D

Lamara Rider Jacket via AllSaints

Lamara Rider Jacket via AllSaints

In less than 24 hours I’ll be on the road! Wish us luck over the next two weeks! Tim got himself a new lens so there will be tons of photos when we get back. With any luck, I’ll be able to make a few posts from our accommodations but it all depends on how exhausted we are in between stops.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

