Flowers, Sneakers and Candy

Over the past few weeks I’ve seen a lot of really nice, soft colors in fashion that are very attractive without being flat and boring.

Annabella Barber by Jaclyn Adams for Plaza Kvinna (via Haute Design)

Annabella Barber by Jaclyn Adams for Plaza Kvinna (via Haute Design)

Annabella Barber by Jaclyn Adams for Plaza Kvinna (via Haute Design)

Annabella Barber by Jaclyn Adams for Plaza Kvinna (via Haute Design)

The colors in this photo-shoot are very soft and warm, like a summer morning. The deep rich colors of the plants and tree trunks in the background keep the bright floral colors of these outfits grounded. I really like the subject matter here, especially the pink blossoms. The models seem to give off a natural sort of beauty, with minimal makeup and subtle accessories. This trend is something I’ve been trying to incorporate in my own makeup routine by leaving out the eyeliner and taking it easy on the bold looks. I feel much better in the warm weather with less makeup on, and besides, I’d rather be outside in the sun than inside, slaving over eyeliner that will likely smear off in the heat.

"schlachthofbronx" (via Print & Pattern)

“schlachthofbronx” (via Print & Pattern)

"schlachthofbronx" (via Print & Pattern)

“schlachthofbronx” (via Print & Pattern)

Here we have a cotton candy-colored palette accented with bold hair styles and sullen models. I’m not sure if I dig that contrast or not, to be honest. It lessens the carefree nature of the look, which otherwise, I like. The platform sneakers are very appreciated, since I can use all the extra height I can find (5″1), and heels aren’t always the most comfortable alternative. The leather jacket with the frilly dress is a really fun mix of edgy and cute. The cut of the dress in the second image is very flattering as well, following the peplum trend of this season. I’m not sure if the puffy shoulders and gold sneakers really go together, but I could totally see myself wearing them separately.

Louis Vuitton Spring/Summer 2012 campaign (via Elle Decoration)

Louis Vuitton Spring/Summer 2012 campaign (via Elle Decoration)

I’m loving these candy bubblegum colors! They really show that colors found on younger clothes can work in more mature, sexy outfits. I may be drawn to these colors since they go nicely on a variety of skin-tones, even someone with really fair skin (which is my situation). Looking more closely at the white floral fabric on the dresses in the second half of the image above, I could swear it was almost the exact same fabric from another shoot in Tokyo which I covered in an earlier post. Looks like this may be a trend!

It seems that pattern has a huge role to play in keeping soft colors interesting. I would gravitate towards something with an intricate pattern on it (embroidery, layering, etc), even if it’s in a softer pale color, instead of a bold colored plain article of clothing. Softer colors also have the benefit of working together much more easily than brighter, bolder colors, so choosing outfits can happen more quickly and effortlessly.

Leave a Reply

