Chairs with Patterns

What better way to celebrate Friday than to show off some stylin’ chairs to chill in for the weekend?  The chairs below caught my attention because of the beautiful patterns on them.

Hollie Wood's home (via apartment therapy)

Hollie Wood’s home (via apartment therapy)

This one risks being boring and stuffy, but I think the solid color on the back gives it a more updated look than what you’d find at your grand parents’ house. I’d be wary of mixing other patterns with it, like carpets and table cloths. That aside, I really like the arm-less style of this chair, great for lounging. The scoop back looks quite comfy!

Mid Century Modern chair (via Etsy)

Mid Century Modern chair (via Etsy)

Mid Century Modern chair (via Etsy)

Mid Century Modern chair (via Etsy)

The bird on the back of this chair looks almost tattoo-like in design. The mix of pink and green make this chair nice and bright! It would look best in a room decorated with similiar colors, or one that’s mostly black or white. Otherwise, you risk clashing. I picture this chair in a lounge area, living room or studio space, somewhere cool and hip.

Garvey Chair

Garvey Chair

I somehow see my cats taking over this chair, and where it’s so low to the ground, they’d have no trouble climbing into it. The type-centered pattern looks great. Because the colors of this chair are neutral, it would go well in almost any room.

John Lewis Mr.Bright Chair

John Lewis Mr.Bright Chair

Rather than fancy fabric, this chair is patterned with buttons. It’s available in lots of different colors, but I prefer the aqua. This color would work well in most rooms that aren’t decorated overwhelmingly with another bright color. It’s style allows for many different sitting styles, from lounging to putting your legs over the side. It looks like one of those chairs that you sink right into.

Louis VX French Style Open Armchairs (via Etsy)

Louis VX French Style Open Armchairs (via Etsy)

Hand-carved French Settee (via Etsy)

Hand-carved French Settee (via Etsy)

I love the intricacy of the patterns and framing in the two chairs & couch above. Because of the black/white/grey colors in these chairs, they’d go in almost any space without too much fuss. The Victorian/French styling is so beautiful! I want to run my fingers over the hand-carved arms and legs, and study the details more closely. I’ll admit that these chairs are likely a bit more stylish than comfy, but they look like they’d hold up well enough to justify them in my home.

I’ve made it to another Friday! I’m actually spending this one out of town looking for accommodation in Halifax! NSCAD starts up in September and I’m hoping to have the month of August to settle into living in a new city, and getting myself used to doing hours of art everyday. I’m so excited but at the same time, I’ll be happy when the moving stuff is taken care of. Have a good weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

