More Ideas for my White Apartment

I thought that if I was home all week it’d be no problem to get posts up.. guess not! We’ve been packing pretty steadily all week without a whole lot of time to do much else. I’m hoping things will be back to normal next week but it all depends on when we get internet in the new place, so no promises there. Keep an eye on my twitter feed for moving updates, if you’re interested in the mean time.

I’ve been glancing at Pinterest and my blog feeds over the past few weeks for ideas on how to decorate and/or paint our new apartment. Since we’re located on the back of the building it stays nice and cool but may not get as much light as other units, so I’d like to keep whatever palettes we choose nice and light to reflect what light we do get.

(via The Peak of Tres Chic)

(via The Peak of Tres Chic)

I don’t think Tim would go for this much pink but I really like how soft it makes the room look. With only a small amount of black accents, this room looks open and welcoming. The chic vintage-travel-type painting on the wall ties everything together and gives these soft colors a bit of an edge.

(via Chloe Rose Boutique)

(via Chloe Rose Boutique)

More pink, but it’s really subtle. Silver accents this space much better than black and help keep things light and shiny. These modern lucite chairs also give the illusion of more space than there actually is.

(via The Decorista)

(via The Decorista)

Pink and blue are two of my favorite colors. If I’m going to include them in our new place, though, it’ll likely be in small doses. Pillows or flowers are a simple and practical way to bring in some brightness and fun to a space. I’d absolutely love to have a cow hide rug (they’re so durable and super easy to clean), but that may have to wait for holidays. In a small space, keeping clutter neatly organised in book shelves or other storage is critical.

(via Serena and Lily)

(via Serena and Lily)

Technically this isn’t a white space, but I liked this color combination so much that I chose to include it in here anyway. Yellow and magenta seem like they’d be too bright to work off each other, but if you keep them pale they really liven up the space without it being garish. Doing some wainscoting or painting half of the wall is something we’re considering as well.

(via Mimi and Me)

(via Mimi and Me)

The rich colors in that painting caught my eye immediately, but then I was drawn in to the richness of the space as a whole. Leaving wood plain instead of painting over it warms up this mostly-white room quite nicely. The green in the plants pop against the magenta/purple in the background.

I’ve been able to sell of quite a bit of my art, so I’ll have some more wall space to play with when we get settled into our new apartment. Being able to paint art specifically for the new place, as well as paint the walls, will be a lot more fun than this packing is! I’m off to fill more boxes, see you all soon, maybe from Halifax!

3 responses to “More Ideas for my White Apartment

  1. Pingback: Cadires fantasma | wondercoses

Leave a Reply

