Sunday Reflections

Since I’ve got the month off until school starts up in September (even though fully unpacking the apartment is going to take quite awhile) I’m going to try and get in 4 posts a week for the month of August. I’d like to take a bit of a different route with weekend posts, and try to reflect a bit on what I read during the week. Though much of my blog feeds are filled with pretty things to look at and lust after, they also contain very thoughtful articles and interesting insight on the art & design world.

Apartment Therapy posted an article on 10 simple things you can do to make yourself happier in your home. There are a few points in particular that interest me.

1. Make your bed. – After a long day of work or school, climbing into a nicely made bed, with fresh crisp sheets, is a simple luxury that always makes me sleep better. There’s something more relaxing about climbing into a bed that’s been made as opposed to one that’s messy. It’s like when you stay with a friend, or at a hotel, and the room has been cleaned and prepared just for you. Clean room = clean mind, maybe?

4. Start a one-line-a-day gratitude journal. This is something I’ve been meaning to do for quite some time, but I’ve always forgotten about it. Starting or ending the day on a positive note, and recording all of them, is something I could look back on if I was having a bad day or feeling down on myself. Maybe I could start an illustration-type journal with this in mind?

I’m not done with my 20’s quite yet (don’t even want to think about it, omggggg) but Mighty Girl posted a list of 20 things they wish they knew in their 20’s, and I couldn’t help but take a look.

5. Don’t complain. This has taken quite a long time to sink in. While complaining may seem like it’s helping you vent, it borders on dwelling at whatever the issue on hand is. Complaining feels good in the heat of the moment, but doing it continuously just re-opens the wound and at the end of the day, isn’t very practical. Instead of complaining, I’d rather try to find a solution to the problem or simply let it slide.

16. Focus. I’ll quote the description for this one since it says it all:

The saying, “what you’re thinking about is what you’re becoming” isn’t just chilling, it’s a universal law. Be aware of how you’re investing your attention – including your words, and your actions.

18. Don’t be intimidated. I’m still working on this one. I do know that if I want to improve at something, it doesn’t help to sit around and fret about how much I have to still do, or if I’ll be good enough or not. This applies especially with art. I just need to keep my nose to the ground, push through, and shrug off any intimidation.

Back to unpacking while enjoying the Olympics. Even if you don’t like sports, the Olympics are undeniably a celebration of the beauty and ability of the human body. Enjoy the rest of your weekends, and see you all tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

