On Nudity & Sexuality in my Blog & the Art of Daniela Uhlig (nsfw nudity)

First of all, I want to say thanks to my readers, because I was recently told by WordPress that I officially have 100 followers! I hope that everyone is still enjoying the blog! I’ll do my best to keep it up during school, because it’s important to me to keep inspired and to keep writing. This blog has been largely about narrowing down what things in particular inspire me and what things I want to focus on as an artist. Over the past year I really feel I’ve made progress on this.

I’d like to follow up by quickly discussing nudity and sexuality in regards to my posts. To dismiss a piece of art because the subject matter is sexual or relates to fetish is a huge mistake and something I refuse to do. I’ve been a bit hesitant on posting nudity or sexual content in this blog because I don’t want to offend readers, but at the same time I need to be true to myself and to what inspires me.

Sometimes inspiration comes from landscape, sometimes from kittens, and sometimes from leather or fur or skimpy clothes or nakedness. I’m not ashamed to be inspired by any of those things and so I’ll be honest on this blog and feature them. The skill required to properly render a fairly-realistic nude body is impressive, and there’s nothing more beautiful than the human form. That being said, I realize some of you are reading my posts at work so I’ll tag & title any nudity or sexual content NSFW – Not Safe For Work, so that you can bookmark and read later. 😉 Now, onto your regularly scheduled blog post!

Daniela Uhlig’s art is a fun digital mixing of caricature and sexuality. Each of her subjects are carefully styled, from hair to eye shape to accessories, to create images that draw the viewer in with characters that seem to tell stories through the paintings. Daniela does a lot of pin-up & sexual work,  showcasing the female body and playing on sexual imagery without being overly vulgar.

by Daniela Uhlig

by Daniela Uhlig

The juxtaposition of angels wings against her punk-inspired shaved head drew my attention and makes me want to learn more about this girl. The simplicity of her styling (minimal makeup or accessories) and painting’s soft color palette create a relaxing atmosphere.

by Daniela Uhlig

by Daniela Uhlig

The triptych framing is an interesting choice for this image. The colors and patterns in the background help draw attention to the girl and tentacles. It’s definitely a pin-up inspired piece and the tentacles are a little worrying (trust me when I say not to google image search them…) but it’s a fun and colorful image, and I like it anyway.

by Daniela Uhlig

by Daniela Uhlig

There’s more of a graphic design feeling to this work. The style is more flat and cell-shaded while the background is full of patterns. Artists that have a style that’s recognizable across mediums seem very successful to me and are people I want to emulate. Working with a limited color palette is important in screen-printing and other print matter, and she these few colors very well. Also I absolutely love her haircut and I’m a sucker for pink!

by Daniela Uhlig

by Daniela Uhlig

Two of my favorite colors, pink & blue, are a winning combination in any painting I see. The duality here between these two girls is intriguing. Evil versus good, hot versus cold? Despite the two very different colors, Daniela’s achieved a comfortable balance in this image.

by Daniela Uhlig

by Daniela Uhlig

This image is one of the most beautifully rendered I’ve seen from Daniela so far. I especially like the detailing on this girl’s dread locks. Everything from the freckles on her face to her jeweled necklace are stunningly realistic. She looks like she’s about to say something, but what?

Make sure to check out her website (obviously NSFW) for more of her work. I had a hard time choosing just five images to post here since all of her paintings are striking. Daniela paints not only beautiful women, but women that are more than simply bodies. Everything from their facial expressions to their backdrops contribute to a new world in each painting, somewhere beautiful and mysterious that begs a closer look.

Leave a Reply

